July 31st New York, NY

Today’s thrifting experience was absolutely out of this world! I started the morning a bit angry because the night before I had planned this fun little play date with my 13-year-old niece. I got a text from her the next morning saying that she can’t go because she had to babysit. I was so upset I did what any mid-twenties girl would do–I cried.  After crying a bit I decided that the only thing that would cheer me up is going to  some thrift shops.

I used to work on 23rd street as a “market researcher” when I was in high school.  I remember strolling down 23rd street and visiting the 3 thrift shops that were close to my office of employment. After 8 years, I will now return to these thrift shops and leave with more gems than I can shake a thrifty stick at and  $112.42 less than  I had the day before.

Thrift shops of the day.

Housing Works Thrift Shop
The Salvation Army
Goodwill Thrift Shop

Housing Works Thrift Shop

Gramercy Location
157 East 23rd St.
New York, NY 1001

I seriously was about to walk right past this shop and head to the Goodwill and Salvation Army which are both about two blocks away. I stood outside looking at the window and then realized I had to at least be fair and blog about Housing Works since they have “thrift shop” in their name. As you can probably tell, I wasn’t on the best of terms with this thrift shop. On my last visit, 8 years ago, I was left with the impression that this place was over priced and a “fake” thrift shop. Well, my mind is 8-years-older and so is my bank account. Needless to say my opinion of this store has changed for the better.

Despite their fine selection of all things thrift, all I ended up purchasing was 3 VHS tapes to use when I babysit my 6-year-old- niece.  And an earring. Yes, 1 earring.

The total for the following items was 1.36 (incl tax):

This earring was found in a basket full of button pins. As I was looking through it I noticed that this was not a button pin but an earring! I paid $ .50 for it.

Unlike most thrift shops who charge $1.00 for VHS tapes, Housing Works only charges $.25 for each tape. Since I am fortunate to have 3 TVs with built-in VCRs I decided to buy these for when I am entertaining some of my  many young nieces.

There are a few things thrifters must realize when shopping at thrift stores on 23rd street: Things are generally priced more and you will find many designer clothing.
Not only is the stuff at Housing Works very affordable but they are choc full of designer clothing.

They have many affordable and fashionable items for under $30! Including shoes. Housing Works has a lovely selection of shoes. Some of their shoes are very worn while most are in like-new condition. They had two baskets full of brand new sandals.

Aside from their stellar shoe selection, Housing Works also has a diverse selection of purses.

Jeans, Blazers, Jackets, Pins, Earrings, Jewelry–Housing Works has it all!

Housing Works has many DVDs, Video Cassettes, CDs, and Books to choose from as well as Vinyl Records. What thrift shop would be complete without video cassettes,  vinyl records and books? These are three things people love to throw away.

Housing Works also has jewelry and home decor items including furniture, beautiful framed pictures, and , Bric-a-brac. Their furniture tends to be on the pricey side as it is very fine quality. I’d say you get your moneys worth.

I will definitely go back to Housing Works. They have many locations throughout NYC.

Back to top ^

The Salvation Army

212 East 23rd Street
New York, NY 10010

I remember this Salvation Army used to be two levels. The first level was a small room with furniture and paintings and the lower level housed all other items. They must have changed locations or did intense renovations because the store is now only one level (that I noticed)  and doesn’t contain much furniture.  Despite the pile of dirty used underwear, I managed to find some really great gems.

I spent a total of $34.75 at this store (inc tax) on the following items:

A biblical painting for $4.99.

This looks spiritual. $4.99.Bueno hand bag for $3.99

Striped “where’s Waldo?” turtleneck: $4.99.Banana Republic Pea Coat: $14.99

I really love the bag selection in this thrift shop. The majority of their bags are under $8.00.

The shoes weren’t so bad.

Decent clothing selection.

I really like their book selection. They have all kinds of books from all different genres.

A Stephen King collection!

“The Lightening Thief”

Tom Clancy

I didn’t see much furniture but they did have a  lot of T.V’s and a few nice home decor items.

This place is a good stop for bags, clothing, and plates. I wouldn’t go here for furniture because there isn’t much of a selection.

Back to top ^

Goodwill

220 East 23rd Street
New York, NY 10010

“I came here on the right day.” I kept repeating this to myself as I checked out rack upon rack of items. On this particular Saturday the ENTIRE store was %50 off. I was like a kid in the candy store.

After spending about 20 minutes in the dressing room trying on different items, I settled on the following 14 items spending a total of $76.31 (tax incl) :*all prices reflect %50 discount*

Abercrombie & Fitch fall jacket: $12.49

Two summer dresses. $2.99 (beige) and $4.99 (pink).

This outfit didn’t cost a cent over $13.00 necklace included. The dress is from H&M.

Banana Republic wool hoodie: $4.99.

Purple Sweater : $6.49.

Two summer dresses by H&M. $2.99 each.

I love costume jewelry!

As you can see by my purchases, I went a bit thrift crazy! The store was full of young woman of varying styles all filling up their baskets with items. It kind of felt like we were in on a secret that many people didn’t know about. This goodwill has tons of like-new and new items for low prices.

Even the display mannequins were dressed hip!

More of their eclectic clothing selections:

They had a lot of bags to choose from but the bag selection wasn’t as good as the Salvation  Army next door. They are going to be having a bag sale for the more pricey bags that they put in the store window.

This bag was around $120. I am not sure the name brand.These are some of the bags you may find inside the store:

There isn’t much furniture to choose from in this store. There is, however, a lot of shoes!

Platform snowboots? Now you know you’re a fashionista.

Here are some other items that I took a fancy to:

Words of wisdom:

After shopping at the thrift shops on 23rd street I realize just how mediocre many thrift shops are. These are some of the best thrift shops I have ever been to in terms of clothing. If you are in NYC make it your business to check these shops out. You won’t be disappointed.

Of course every rigorous thrifting experience should end in a nice meal. Today’s meal was a Chipotle barbacoa burrito bowl. YUMMY!

There’s meat somewhere in there.  .  .

Back to top ^

About thirstythrift

20-something-years-old. Professional thrifter by way of passion. NYC resident.
This entry was posted in shopping and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to July 31st New York, NY

  1. dogsmom says:

    It was fun thrifting through your much younger enthusiastic eyes.

    I have to get some pictures taken of my recent loot and get to posting.

Leave a Reply

