2/23/11 Delray Beach/Boynton Beach, FL

Thrifting Menu
Bethesda Bargain Box
Goodwill Industries Delray
Goodwill Industries Boynton

 

 


Bethesda Bargain Box

12 N.E. 5th Ave.
Delray Beach, FL 33483

This thrift shop is situated in a really cute area of downtown Delray. The shops in Delray are rather expensive in the downtown area so I soon realized that any thrift shop found in this area would be just as expensive.

The shop is small but very clean and well organized. Steve commented that “It actually smells like a real store and not a musty closet” oh hush Steve. But there is a ring of truth to Steve’s observation. The Bethesda Bargain Box seems to pride themselves on the cleanliness and like-new condition of their items and the prices most definitely reflect that.

The items in the store seem to be targeting Florida’s elderly population as most of the clothes were clothes that grandma’s and grandpa’s everywhere would find fashionable.

What really struck me was the two real mink coats that were for sale. One was being sold for a whopping $900!  I’m sure this would make PETA boil with anger. I couldn’t help feel a twinge of anger over the fact that multiple innocent animals were slaughtered to make an ugly (yet soft) coat but now the coat was being re-sold in some thrift shop for a price that no one would likely buy it for.

This thrift shop seems more of an antique shop and if you know me, you know I stay away from anything which calls itself, “Antique Shop.” That usually means really expensive prices. I like to find my own antiques, sifting for them through the rubble as one sifts for gold buried in the sand. I don’t like my antiques polished , displayed, and adorned with a hefty price tag. What’s the fun in that?

Anyways, if you like your antiques spoon fed to you on a silver platter then you will like this store. If not for their antiques, perhaps for their board games, sophisticated clothes/shoes, expensive fur coats, or a glimpse at the creepy mannequin in the police outfit who greets you with a suspicious countenance as you enter the store.

Needless to say, I left this shop the same way I came in–empty handed. Here are some pictures to take a glimpse inside.

 

 

 

 

Back to top

 

 

 

Goodwill Industries Thrift Store
1640 N. Federal Hwy.
Delray Beach, FL 33483

Goodwill saves the day! I can always count on The Goodwill and The Salvation Army thrift shop to give me a real thrifting experience. Man, do I love these stores. I am usually a Salvation Army girl but going to the Goodwill shops in Florida have reminded me just how better maintained they are than their “competitor.”

First of all, the outside of this thrift shop really caught my fancy. The design and architecture reminds me of some sort of 60’s wedding chapel or catering hall. Externally speaking , it’s very unlike any Goodwill store that I’ve ever seen.

Walking inside I noticed a really pretty tube dress on one of the mannequins but didn’t dare to ask for it as from my experience the clothing on the mannequin is rarely removed for the customer. I assume it takes a lot of time and effort from the thrift shops visual display team to match those purple shoes with that purple dress and removing either display item will mess up the whole “look” of the store. BLAH!

Maybe it’s a Florida thing but the jeans in the two Goodwilll’s I’ve been to out here are displayed in such a way that you can easily read their brand and size. I appreciate it.

I didn’t find any jeans that could fit me but I suppose I can live vicariously through my size 1 younger sister. I purchased her these pristine white express jeans:

What I reallllly loved about this thrift shop is their shoe collection. Now some people may be weary about buying used shoes. You just have to use your judgement–like with everything else thrifting. I’m somewhat of a germaphobe but there are some germs I willingly allow into my life, like the germs from other people’s resold property. This store has a really nice shoe selection. I really liked their sandals and was about to purchase 3 pairs but I talked myself out of the other 2 at the register.

I settled on buying these interesting white sandals with a wedged heel:

And this cute shirt:

More Images

 

 

Back to top

Goodwill Industries
9764 S Military Trl # 2,
Boynton Beach, FL

I’ve come to the conclusion that the Goodwill stores in Florida are much more organized than the ones in NYC and NJ. Just like the Goodwill I went to earlier in the day, this Goodwill had everything neatly organized. Upon entering the store I was greeted by a neatly displayed table of books. My heart skipped a beat when I saw a copy of Upton Sinclair’s The Jungle:
The geek in me shrieked with delight. This copy was in mint condition, could it be an original? I thought to myself. Needless to say my hopes at scoring an original historic document were shattered when I realized it was a facsimile of the original print (as I was waiting on the long checkout line). Bummer. And to think, I wasted all of that time teaching Steve about the history of investigative journalism,  Muckraking and Upton Sinclair all in the middle of a thrift shop in Florida.

I ended up purchasing a like-new stainless steal pan, a portable filing cabinet , and a cat book.

Here’s a glimpse inside the place:

Back to top

About thirstythrift

20-something-years-old. Professional thrifter by way of passion. NYC resident.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

