July 2012, Bloomfield , NJ

Well that took a while didn’t it? After juggling the demands of a full-time job and grad school, I am back in action! Thank you to all who sent me encouraging emails during my hiatus. I spruced up the website if you haven’t noticed. What do you think? The image in the header is me. My brother created it. Anyways, enough of my chatter. Back to thrifting!

Treasure Hunt Consignment Shop (Formerly known as Sandi’s Consignment Shop)

I haven’t been to this consignment shop in a while. I was surprised to see that it was under new management and had  a new name. Back in July of 2010 I blogged about Sandi’s Consignment Shop and I am happy to say, it is still the same gem in 2012 as it was back then.

Immediately upon arrival I found the final gem waiting for me outside in the glistening sunlight:

It was so lightweight, I could lift it without a problem. Here is Steve carrying it away. So what is it you wonder?

A vintage cedar wood storage chest! In like-new condition. An excellent find for only  $18!

It opens up to a deep cedar wood chest.  It looks like it was never -very lightly used!

I grabbed it right away! I even got a history lesson on it during the drive back home from Lorraine. She told me that “back in the day” people would store their winter clothes in cedar wood chests to keep the moths from munching on them in the warm weather seasons.  I don’t know if I am going to use it to store my purses or store my winter comforters.

Some more cutesy items I found at Treasure Chest Consignment Shop:

$5 bracelet.

Contact storage case. And a square hamburger picture. I collect images with these exact dimensions to hang on the wall in my kitchen. I’ll take a picture next time to show you.

If you are in the Bloomfield , NJ area. You should definitely stop by this consignment shop!

About thirstythrift

20-something-years-old. Professional thrifter by way of passion. NYC resident.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to July 2012, Bloomfield , NJ

  1. Auntie Kate says:

    Hi Thirstythrift… What you’ve scored is a hope chest! Back in the day, every lucky young girl received one of these (Lane’s brand was considered the ne plus ultra) in her early teens, and used it to collect and protect her household trousseau as she waited around for her Prince Charming to find her. Embroidered pillowcases (the His and Her variety was popular!), cross-stitched mottoes, that sort of stuff.
    Doncha love to hear the stories behind thrift, resale, consignment purchases? That’s often the best part! –Kate of http://HowToConsign.com / Turning your Cluttered Closets into Cash!

  2. Wow. Yes , I absolutely love hearing the history on vintage finds. I don’t get to hear it enough! Thanks a lot for the information.

  3. What great finds! I live down in Southern NJ, but if I’m ever up that way I will check out that store.
    I really like that bracelet is it silver and turquoise? I hope you post a pic of your kitchen with those signs in it – must look pretty neat!

  4. Carey says:

    Your post, July 2012, Bloomfield, NJ, is really well written and insightful. Glad I found your website, warm regards!

    http://www.bargaincitywarehouse.com/

Leave a Reply

